Spicy Cashew Chicken Salad

I LOVE chicken salad and throughout the years have had many yummy versions. Tonight I was inspired to through together a handful of flavors and my taste buds are currently enjoying the outcome šŸ™‚ I decided that this would be lunch for the week, so I made a decent amount.

Image

Spicy Cashew Chicken Salad

  • 2 Tbsp. Olive Oil
  • 2 lbs. Chicken Breast, cleaned and cubed
  • 1 Poblano pepper, de-seeded and diced
  • 2 Celery Stalks, diced
  • 2 Green Onions, diced
  • a large handful of cilantro, rough chopped
  • juice from 1/2 of a lime
  • 1/8-1/4 cup cashew pieces
  • salt, pepper, cayenne, cumin
  • 1/4-1/2 cup mayo

In a large skillet, heat oil. Once the oil is hot, add the chicken and poblano peppers. Season with salt, pepper, cayenne and a squeeze of lime juice. Once the chicken is cooked through, drain excess liquid and let cool. (I wanted to eat this quickly so I stuck my chicken in the freezer for about ten minutes). Add the remaining ingredients and mix. I added somewhere between 1/8 and 1/4 tsp of cayenne and cumin to my mixing bowl until I got the kick I was looking for; I also used less mayo as I prefer other ingredients to have center stage šŸ™‚

Try this chicken salad and you will never settle for the standard chicken salad again!

Leave a comment